OGHOF offers two scholarships for 2016-17 academic year


Contact: Ken MacLeod, 918-280-0787 or ken@golfoklahoma.org

Oklahoma Golf Hall of Fame offers two scholarships for 2016-17 academic year

The Oklahoma Golf Hall of Fame has announced it will award two $5,000 scholarships in 2016, one to a male and one to a female.

The Oklahoma Golf Hall of Fame Scholarships are for high school seniors graduating in 2016 and going to attend an Oklahoma four-year college or university. Also eligible are students already enrolled in an Oklahoma four-year college or university who have an interest in golf.

The specifics of the criteria and the application form for the Hall of Fame scholarships are both available at www.oklahomagolfhof.org. The winners must have an interest in and relationship with the sport of golf, though not necessarily as a member of a competitive team.

Deadline for entry is April 15, 2016. Winners will be announced no later than June 1, 2016.

“The Hall of Fame Executive Board is very interested in giving back and helping deserving young Oklahomans who represent the future of the game, not just from a playing standpoint, but from all standpoints,” said Oklahoma Golf Hall of Fame Executive Director Nick Sidorakis, also general manager at Southern Hills Country Club.

“Golf needs future stewards in agronomy, business, teaching, coaching, equipment and merchandising, in addition to playing,” Sidorakis said. “I think you can see from the first class we inducted last fall that included a coach, a champion for civil rights, an architect, a life-long amateur, a player/administrator and a highly successful professional, that we want to have a broad-based approach to supporting the game and these scholarships will reflect that philosophy.

“We encourage anyone interested to please go to the website and fill out an application.”

Winners will be honored at the next Oklahoma Golf Hall of Fame induction ceremony scheduled Sept. 18 at Southern Hills Country Club in Tulsa.

The Oklahoma Golf Hall of Fame inducted former Oklahoma State coach Mike Holder, architect Perry Maxwell, amateur Charlie Coe, civil rights pioneer Bill Spiller, amateur, professional and administrator Bob Dickson and long-time PGA Tour and Champions Tour stalwart Gil Morgan in October. They joined 21 golfers who had previously been inducted into the Oklahoma Women’s Golf Hall of Fame.

Scholarship application page HERE