2017 Hall of Fame Induction Highlights

Highlight Video

2017 Oklahoma Golf Hall of Fame inductees; Terry Walser accepting for brother Joe Walser, Bob Tway, Mark Hayes, Doug Tewell and Gil Morgan accepting for Ernie Vossler.
2017 Scholarship recipients Chloe McKinney and Graham Cox.
Chairman Nicholas S. Sidorakis with Dobson Award Jordan Niebrugge.
Everett Dobson with 2017 Dobson Award winner Drew Posada.

A heavyweight class including Bob Tway, Doug Tewell, Mark Hayes, Joe Walser Jr. and Ernie Vossler was inducted into the Oklahoma Golf Hall of Fame at a packed dinner Oct. 1 at Oklahoma City Golf & Country Club.

A list of golf royalty was on hand for the inductions, including Scott Verplank, Willie Wood, David Edwards, Gil Morgan, who spoke for Vossler, former PGA Executive Director Jim Awtrey, Roger Maxwell, many past Hall of Fame inductees and members of the Oklahoma Golf Hall of Fame board.

Tewell and Tway gave heartfelt speeches about their lives and times as members of the Oak Tree Gang. Son Kelly Hayes spoke for Mark Hayes, while brother Terry Walser accepted for Joe Walser and Hall of Famer Gil Morgan talked abouit his mentor Vossler.

Also being recognized were scholarship recipients Chloe McKinney of Durant and Dustin Cox of Duncan and Everett Dobson Award winner Drew Posada, now golf coach at Oklahoma Baptist University.

To watch the videos prepared for each inductee narrated by Jim Nantz or see clips of the acceptance speeches, click HERE.

The board has not set a date or location for the next class, but tentatively is looking at 2019 in Tulsa. Details to come.

The Oklahoma Golf Hall of Fame Classic, a fund-raiser for the Hall of Fame, was held Oct. 2 at Oklahoma City Golf & Country Club. Anyone wishing to donate, information is HERE.