Hill, Charles to receive Oklahoma Golf Hall of Fame scholarships

The Oklahoma Golf Hall of Fame executive board has announced that Meghan Charles of Sand Springs and Tres Hill of Elk City are the recipients of its 2021 Hall of Fame scholarships.

Charles will receive the Mid-First Bank Scholarship and Hill the Hall of Fame scholarship. Each is worth $5,000.

Both Charles and Hill are competitive junior golfers who competed this week in the OGA Junior State Amateur at Kickingbird Golf Course in Edmond.

Hill, who will continue his playing career at Oklahoma City University, was the 2020 Oklahoma Junior Golf Tour player of the year. He is also the point guard on his basketball team at Elk City, while finding time to maintain a 3.95 grade point average, become a member of the National Honor Society, Key Club, Rotary and help deliver Meals on Wheels, along with strong involvement in church activities.

Lew Erickson

Charles, who will also continue her career for the OCU Stars, where she will major in nursing, has been a consistently successful competitor in high school, OJGT and South Central PGA junior events, being named the SCPGA Player of the Year for 2020.

Charles is a member of the National Honor Society, has served on the student council, helped with Special Olympics and been on mission trips and otherwise involved with serving her church and helping those with special needs.

“With Tres and Meghan we have two excellent recipients,” said Lew Erickson, chair of the scholarship committee. “They will both represent their schools and communities extremely well at OCU. The Oklahoma Golf Hall of Fame is happy and proud to assist them in their college endeavors.”

Hill and Charles will be recognized at the 2021 Oklahoma Golf Hall of Fame induction ceremony Nov. 21 at Oklahoma City Golf & Country Club.  The 2021 class consists of Scott Verplank, David Edwards, Danny Edwards, Art Proctor and Floyd Farley.

For more information on the Oklahoma Golf Hall of Fame or to attend the dinner, go to www.oklahomagolfhof.org.